Are you getting tired of using Snapchat every day? Maybe you have guilty feelings for giving a lot of hours a day to this platform without realizing it. If you want to remedy that, you can choose to delete your account from the platform easily, unlike other SNS platforms. It would take only a few clicks in a web browser to complete the task.
But first, make sure you are up for deleting your digital footprint from this social network application, whether it’s temporarily or permanently. If you are wondering how to delete Snapchat account, follow the below step-by-step guide to deactivate your account from the platform. Let’s get down to it.
Step by Step Guide For Deleting and Deactivating The Snapchat Account
Just like other popular SNS platforms such as Facebook, Instagram, Youtube, Whatsapp, etc., Snapchat has emerged to be a very trendy yet in-demand platform due to offering a plethora of options and features for sharing status in an attractive way with friends and relatives. However, sometimes excessive uses can make you get bored of using the same platform on and on. If you are searching for how to delete Snapchat account, go through these steps to take action on it.
1. Login to your Snapchat Account in a Browser
In the first step, navigate to the Snapchat Account portal by using an internet web browser. You can access this page by using Snapchat.com. Now you can scroll down to the bottom of the page and find an option for support; click on it. Afterwards, click on “My Account & Security” to get your account information. Then you can select “Delete An account” to access further steps on how to delete Snapchat account.
2. Enter your account details
Enter your user name and password to log in to your account for deletion. Then a log-in verification code will be sent to your phone with which you have opened your account.
3. Enter the security code
Enter that security code and click on the “Submit” option to go into the deactivation portal of the platform.
4. Again enter your account details to deactivate it
On the delete account page, you can enter your username and password again to finalize your account deletion. Once you put in your account details, click on “Continue” to delete your profile from Snapchat.
The next page would show the “Account Deactivated” statement that confirms your account is deactivated in the meantime. But your account is not deleted yet from Snapchat’s database. Read on to get information on how to delete Snapchat account permanently.
Account deactivation duration
Once you have deactivated your Snapchat account from the platform, your account will stay in the process of deletion on the CMS of Snapchat for 30 days. After this 30 days period of the trial, all information about your account would get deleted and removed from the Snapchat database permanently. In this 30 days interval, none of your friends would be able to interact with you over Snapchat, as your profile has been deactivated. Neither anyone can see your profile, nor your friends can share anything with your profile.
Once the 30 days processing period is ended from your account deactivation date, in less than 24 hours after that, your account would be permanently taken down from the Snapchat database. Now that you know how to delete Snapchat account permanently, you can go ahead and work through the process. However, remember that, once you have deleted your account permanently, you won’t be able to recover any data from your Snapchat account or sign in to it again. Thus, it’s advised that you save whatever information you want to save before deleting it.
Save your data before deleting your Snapchat account
You can follow through the above steps on how to delete Snapchat account if you have decided on deleting your Snapchat account permanently. But if you want to save your data before that, you can easily download them before deactivating. You can get your downloaded data in a .zip file. Here is how you can download your Snapchat data.
- Navigate to the Snapchat web portal and log in to your account.
- Choose “My Data ” on the page and then click on the “Submit Request” link given below the page.
- Give Snapchat a few hours to complete collecting your data. Once the file is ready, you will receive a mail to download your data.
- Opening the mail, you can see a link to download your data. Click on it to download the file.
Ensure all information are deleted
If you want to permanently delete your Snapchat account, go through the above steps to know how to delete Snapchat account. But you might be concerned about whether or not all of your account information is permanently deleted or not. However, there is nothing to worry about. After 30 days of your account deactivation, all your account data is permanently deleted from the Snapchat database. In case you have made any purchase through the platform, Snapchat might keep some data for legal purposes, security, and business, etc.
Reactivating your Snapchat account
In case you have second thoughts about permanently deleting your Snapchat account, you can always be reactive to your account with all your data intact. However, you have to do it within the 30 days interval from your deletion date. Note that you might not be able to change your Snapchat account password after deactivating it, so it’s advised to remember the password, just in case you might need to reactivate it.
In this 30 days period, Snapchat would keep your account data, so you would be able to reactivate your account, even though you have proceeded through how to delete Snapchat account. For reactivating your Snapchat account, just go to the Snapchat website and log in to your account using the previous username and password. Remember, this process would only work if you have not surpassed the 30 days duration.
Snapchat offers many filters and innumerable easy and fun, entertaining features which are taking most of your valuable time as you have become addicted to them. Also, you might find the platform less entertaining nowadays and want to take a break from SNS use, then follow this guide to deactivate your Snapchat account. You can always rejoin the platform without much trouble.